I Watched This For You So You Didn’t Have To… “Behind The Music: Gym Class Heroes”

29 Oct

Last week, I found myself with more quiet time than usual, so I decided to head on over to VH1.com and watch some new full episodes of “Behind the Music.” I don’t know who is responsible for choosing who gets featured on these episodes…but can I have their job?! Anywayssss, here is the episode if you want to watch!

I watched the “Gym Class Heroes” episode because I honestly didn’t know anything about them, and their lead singer Travie McCoy does intrigue me. We all know he dated Katy Perry before they both got reallyyyy famous. See below:

And literally a HUGE chunk of the show was dedicated to their relationship! Travie couldn’t kick his drug habit (prescription pain meds), which led to their break-up. And it seems like he has been reeling ever since. He definitely still loves her. And Katy’s song “Circle The Drain” is about his demise into drugs that led to their break-up. And Travie was NOT happy about that song!

But this is pretty much what I learned from the episode:

1. They are named “Gym Class Heroes” because the two original founding members, Travie McCoy and drummer Matt McGinley, met in gym class.

2. Travie started doing drugs when he was 14. He also used to be really overweight. He is now sober, and their latest album, especially the song “Fighter,” is heavily influenced by his journey to become so.

3. So they have been around for a LONG time! When “Cupid’s Chokehold” came out, they had already been a band for ten years. LEGIT.

The episode wasn’t awful, but it was kind of boring. WHICH IS DISAPPOINTING. I’m not a huge Gym Class fan, and I was kind of like, why would they choose them? But the more time it has had to simmer in my mind, the more I am glad they did feature them. And I forgot how many songs I actually do like…

Leave a comment